Library

Mrs. Gallet, our librarian, welcomes all classes to the library on a weekly schedule.

 

Castle Heights Homework Club:

The Castle Heights Homework Club for 2nd-5th graders is available

M,W,Th 2:38-4 pm; Tu 1:38-3 pm in the library.

LAUSD Resources:

25 Ways Parents Can Read With Children (English)

25 Maneras los padres pueden leer con los niños (Español)

 

Library Resources to Support Students at Home

 

Free Magazines

Ranger Rick: https://rangerrick.org/freedigital/

Time for Kids: https://time.com/tfk-free/

National Geographic Kids: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/

Highlights Kids: https://www.highlightskids.com/

 

Free Books Online

Audible Books, https://stories.audible.com/start-listenhttps://stories.audible.com/discovery

OverDrive (with library card) https://lapl.overdrive.com/

Hoopla Digital (with library card) https://www.hoopladigital.com/

Abdo Elementary Bookshelf  https://abdodigital.com/?tk=414F33301B8E136DEE3F0A93BF1795E1

Abdo Secondary Bookshelf  https://abdodigital.com/?tk=840BC558E6676AB1F4C9FA29D8EC6D69

Junior Library Guild https://jlg.ipublishcentral.com/bookshelf

Mackin https://www.mackin.com/hq/resources/free-stuff/

Capstone/PebbleGo (English & Spanish): www.pebblego.com and click "Sign In"

○     Username: engaged

○     Password: learning

Capstone/PebbleGo Next: www.pebblegonext.com and click "Log In"

○     Username: engaged

○     Password: learning

Capstone Interactive eBooks: www.mycapstonelibrary.comand click "Log In"

○     Username: continue

○     Password: reading

 

Free Stories Read-aloud

Storyline Online (books read by actors) https://www.storylineonline.net/

Astronauts Reading from International Space Station https://storytimefromspace.com/library/

Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC0MpwxxTbrBOz1g1X-BynUA

 

Free Online Fun Learning Opportunities

Harry Potter at Home: https://www.wizardingworld.com/collections/harry-potter-at-home

Scholastic free resources: https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html

Visit our library online for additional information including links to LAUSD Digital Library for access to World Book and other databases, nearby libraries, and other resources.

Virtual Book Fair

Welcome to the Scholastic Summer Read-A-Palooza Virtual Book Fair! This is a great way to make sure your student(s) stay engaged through the magic of reading a good book. And, it's a win/win proposal--Your kids get new books to keep them occupied during the hot days of summer and our beloved Castle Heights Library still earns 25% in ScholasticDollars to continue to put new books on the library shelves. We hope that you'll consider this easy option to getting books sent directly to your home for your kids' enjoyment. The fair runs from now until September 4th. Please click on the link below for all pertinent information and to create an account. Free shipping is offered on purchases over $25.

Our best to all of you and a future of being together again.

Roz Gallet and CHES PTA

Please reload

Los Angeles Public Library (use your library card to access) “read books, watch movies and TV shows, take a class, or learn a language from home” 

https://lapl.org/collections-resources/blogs/lapl/read-watch-and-learn-free-home-library

LAUSD Digital Library

    https://achieve.lausd.net/Page/15788

Author Dav Pilkey at Home:

    https://kids.scholastic.com/kids/books/dav-pilkey-at-home/

 

Free Virtual Field Trips (when you need a little break from schoolwork)

San Diego Zoo web cams https://zoo.sandiegozoo.org/live-cams

Monterey Bay Aquarium web cams https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animals/live-cams

Houston Zoo web cams https://www.houstonzoo.org/explore/webcams/

Georgia Aquarium web cams https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/webcam/beluga-whale-webcam/

 

Keep reading and exploring Castle Heights!

310.839.4528
info at castleheightselementary dot org

9755 Cattaraugus Avenue

Los Angeles  CA  90034

Contact us
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

© 2019

Proudly created with Wix.com